Register Here For Concealed Carry Classes
Concealed Carry Classes meet the minimum requirements mandated by the State of Arkansas and consist of a minimum 5 classroom hours in addition to qualifying with live firing. This is a very basic class that addresses Arkansas law, safety issues and shooting skills. Concealed Carry Safety Instruction will qualify applicants to apply for the Arkansas Concealed Handgun Carry License. A link to the Arkansas State Police CHCL website is below. You can apply online, then take this class and return your class certificate, along with your completed fingerprint card to the ASP for processing. If you have little or no firearm experience, Foster may require you to take an “Introduction to Handguns” class. At this time, Foster holds a basic 3-4 hour class on the Thursday evening prior to the Concealed class. You will be fingerprinted in class, so all you have to do is mail your application, fingerprint cards, class completion certificate and check to the ASP. Please understand that the 5 hour class time is a minimum. Classes typically run between 5 1/2 and 6 hours. A note about this class: You can find a shorter class time. You can find a less expensive class. You can find a class where everyone will “pass.” This is not my class. Sorry. I want to make sure that if you are in a terrible situation and my daughter is there a few feet away, that you will be less likely to cause her life to be in danger when you withdraw your concealed pistol. Because you have a pistol does not make you a pistolier. Taking this class will not make you John Wayne or Wyatt Earp.This class is very, very serious, as all classes involving any firearm should be.
The Arkansas State Police issues the Concealed Handgun Carry License (also known as a Concealed Carry Permit). In addition to being eligible to obtain the license (requirements below), an applicant must take, and pass, a handgun safety training class. The curriculum of this class is provided by the ASP. This guideline is the minimum training required to obtain your class safety certification which allows you to apply for your CHCL.
Basically, you must not be a convicted felon or have been institutionalized, voluntarily or involuntarily, for substance abuse or mental problems in the last 5 years. Additionally, you cannot be a habitual user of illegal drugs, or have a history of domestic violence.
If you meet the above qualifications, then you can take the handgun safety class.
Arkansas Concealed Handgun Carry Law
Arkansas Concealed Handgun Carry License Online Application
Arkansas State Police Concealed Carry Website